Workshop Program

DIS 2017 workshops will be held on the first two days of the conference (10th and 11th June 2017). They engage with central themes in designing interactive systems for people. The workshops we selected are unique opportunities to collect together a diverse group of practitioners and researchers to spend focused time on important topics. These workshops aim to get things accomplished, generating outcomes (rather than reporting on them) and actively working together on open, unresolved or controversial issues in the field. Workshops are designed to generate interaction between participants, foster community-building and attract broad interdisciplinary interest within the field.

Unless otherwise indicated, all workshops are open for anyone to register their attendance. However, some workshops may require position statements or papers to be submitted in order to be part of the program, please check submission and participation requirements for specific workshops by following the links to each Workshop’s webpage for full details.

Please note, workshop participants must register for at least one day of the conference.

Workshops Chairs: workshop [AT] dis2017.org

  • Augusto Esteves, Edinburgh Napier University
  • Brian O’Keefe, Farmingdale State College, State University of New York

Workshops Overview

Saturday June 10th

  • Triangulation in UX studies: Learning from Experience [room B24/25]
  • New Value Transactions: Understanding and Designing for Distributed Autonomous Organisations [room H9]
  • People, Personal Data and the Built Environment [room F15]
  • Designing Reconfigurable Televisual Experiences [room B31]
  • Sketching DIS: Hand-drawn sketching in HCI [room H11]
  • Continuous Situated Explorations in Data-enabled Design
    (DAY 1)
  • Gaze Interaction Design: Eye Movement as Design Material
    (DAY 1)

Sunday June 11th

  • Pedagogy & Physicalization: Designing Learning Activities around Physical Data Representations [room H9]
  • Designing for the Arab World [room B31]
  • Setting the Stage with Metaphors for Interaction – Researching Methodological Approaches for Interaction Design of Autonomous Vehicles [room B24/25]
  • Interrogating Biosensing in Everyday Life [room H11]
  • Design tools and materials in creative work [room F15]
  • Continuous Situated Explorations in Data-enabled Design

    (DAY 2)

  • Gaze Interaction Design: Eye Movement as Design Material
    (DAY 2)

Workshops Details

 1 Day Workshop – Saturday June 10th

Triangulation in UX studies: Learning from Experience
Room B24/25

Workshop Website

While the consideration of User Experience (UX) has become embedded in research and design processes, UX evaluation remains a challenging and strongly discussed area for both researchers in academia and practitioners in industry. A variety of different evaluation methods has been developed or adapted from related fields, building on identified methodology gaps. Although the importance of mixed methods and data-driven approaches to get well-founded study results of interactive systems has been emphasized numerous times, there is a lack of evolved understandings and recommendations of when and in which ways to combine different methods, theories, and data related to the UX of interactive systems. The workshop aims to gather experiences of user studies from UX professionals and academics to contribute to the knowledge of mixed methods, theories, and data in UX evaluation. We want to discuss individual experiences, best practices, risks and gaps, and to reveal correlations among individual triangulation strategies.

Organisers:

Ingrid Pettersson, Chalmers University of Technology,ingrid.pettersson[at]chalmers.se
Anna-Katharina Frison, University of Applied Sciences,anna-katharina.frison[at]thi.de
Florian Lachner, University of Munich (LMU), lachner[at]cdtm.de
Dimitrios Gkouskos, Malmo University, dimitrios.gkouskos[at]mah.se
Andreas Riener, University of Applied Sciences, andreas.riener[at]thi.de


New Value Transactions: Understanding and Designing for Distributed Autonomous Organisations
Room H9

designingdaos.wordpress.com

New digital technologies such as Blockchain and smart contracting are rapidly changing the face of value exchange, and present exciting new opportunities for designers. This one-day workshop will explore the implications of emerging and future technologies using the lens of Decentralised Autonomous Organisations (DAOs). DAOs introduce the principle that products and services may soon be owned and managed collectively and not by one person or authority, thus challenging traditional concepts of user communities, ownership and power. The HCI community has recently explored issues related to finance, money and collaborative practice; however, the implications of these emerging but rapidly ascending distributed technologies has not been examined. This one-day participatory workshop will combine presentations, case studies and group work sessions to understand, develop and critique these new forms of distributed power and ownership, and to practically explore how to design interactive products and services which enable, challenge or disrupt these emerging models.

Organisers:

Bettina Nissen, University of Edinburgh, bettina.nissen[at]ed.ac.uk
Kate Symons, University of Edinburgh, k.symons[at]sms.ed.ac.uk
Ella Tallyn, University of Edinburgh, e.tallyn[at]ed.ac.uk
Chris Speed, University of Edinburgh, c.speed[at]ed.ac.uk
Deborah Maxwell,University of York, debbie.maxwell[at]york.ac.uk
John Vines, Northumbria University,john.vines[at]newcastle.ac.uk


People, Personal Data and the Built Environment
Room F15

Workshop Website

Personal data is increasingly important in our lives. We use personal data to quantify our behaviour, through health apps or for ‘personal branding’ and we are also increasingly forced to part with our data to access services. With a proliferation of embedded sensors, the built environment is playing a key role in this developing use of data, even though this remains relatively hidden. Buildings are sites for the capture of personal data, such as ID card gateways or wifi hotspots. This data is used to adapt buildings to people’s behaviour, and increasingly, organisations use this data to understand how buildings are occupied and how communities develop. This workshop will bring together a community of researchers and practitioners interested in personal informatics and the design of interactive buildings and environments to foster critical discussion on the future role of personal data in interactions with the built environment.

Organisers:

Holger Schnädelbach, University of Nottingham, holger.schnadelbach[at]nottingham.ac.uk
David Kirk, Northumbria University, david.kirk[at]northumbria.ac.uk
Nicholas Dalton, Nortumbria University,n.dalton[at]northumbria.ac.uk
Elizabeth Churchill, Google Inc, churchill[at]acm.org
Nils Jäger, University of Nottingham, nils.jaeger[at]nottingham.ac.uk
Sara Nabil Ahmed, Newcastle University, s.nabil-ahmed2[at]newcastle.ac.uk


Designing Reconfigurable Televisual Experiences
Room B31

Designingthefuture.tv

Modern TV viewing has moved away from the traditional shared living room and sofa experience towards consumption on an ever-evolving set of devices, in a variety of locations, as individuals, or as physically co-located and geographically dispersed groups. However, the consumption of broadcast media still remains a relatively linear experience, fixed at production time. Significant interest has surfaced within the broadcast industry into the production of nonlinear, context specific forms of media presentation. The design of these interactive and reconfigurable televisual experiences at a public facing level requires a user-centered approach. Through the collaboration of researchers, designers, practitioners and stakeholders within the television industry, this workshop will provide a focused day for the design of future reconfigurable televisual experiences.

Organisers:

Davy Smith,University of York, davy.smith[at]york.ac.uk
Jonathan Hook, University of York, jonathan.hook[at]york.ac.uk
Guy Schofield, University of York, guy.schofield[at]york.ac.uk
Marian Ursu, University of York, marian.ursu[at]york.ac.uk
Tom Bartindale, Newcastle University, tom[at]bartindale.com
Gerard Wilkinson, Newcastle University, g.wilkinson[at]newcastle.ac.uk
Matthew Brooks, BBC Research & Development, matthew.brooks[at]bbc.co.uk
Phil Stenton, BBC Research & Development, phil.stenton[at]bbc.co.uk


Sketching DIS: Hand-drawn sketching in HCI
Room H11

www.sketchingDIS.wordpress.com

Hand-drawn sketches can be an easy way for HCI researchers to communicate and express ideas, as well as to document, explore and communicate concepts between the researcher and user, collaborator, manager or client. These sketches are fast, lightweight, easy to create, and – by varying their fidelity – they can be used in all stages of the HCI research and design process. Here, we aim to explore themes around sketching in HCI with the aim of producing tangible outputs in the form of visual records, articles and papers that review and promote this technique in HCI as a field: ‘SketchingDIS: Hand-drawn sketching in HCI’ SketchingDIS.wordpress.com, a one-day workshop will bring together researchers from various disciplines that have incorporated hand-drawn sketching into their everyday research practice, to share knowledge and methodologies, generate ideas, practice collaborative sketching, and to discuss the future of hand-drawn sketching in HCI and DIS itself.

Organisers:

Makayla Lewis,University of London, maccymacx[at]gmail.com
Miriam Sturdee, Lancaster University, m.sturdee[at]lancaster.ac.uk
Jason Alexander, Lancaster University, j.alexander[at]lancaster.ac.uk
Jelle Van Dijk, University of Twente, jelle.vandijk[at]utwente.nl
Majken Kirkegaard Rasmussen, University of Aarhus, mkirkegaard[at]eng.au.dk
Thuong Hoang, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, thuong.hoang[at]unimelb.edu.au

 1 Day Workshop – Sunday June 11th

Pedagogy & Physicalization: Designing Learning Activities around Physical Data Representations
Room H9

Workshop Website

In an age where data and their various representations proliferates many aspects of our professional and private lives, a new form of awareness and visual literacy is required to interpret, critically discuss and actively engage in activities around data representation. Research has found Physicalization to be a productive way to introduce people to activities around data collection, processing, and representation – be it to learn about the concepts of making abstract data graspable, or to learn about complex phenomena represented within the data. This hands-on workshop will explore how designing and building Physicalizations can be a way to actively learn the principles of data representation. The aim of this workshop is to (1) discuss different learning scenarios in which Physicalization activities can be beneficial, (2) explore different approaches to introduce Physicalization activities to different learning audiences, and (3) to build a community interested in the pedagogy of Physicalization.

Organisers:

Trevor Hogan,Cork Institute of Technology, Trevor.hogan[at]cit.ie
Uta Hinrichs,St Andrews, uh3[at]st-andrews.ac.uk
Yvonne Jansen, Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC) , jansen[at]lri.fr
Samuel Huron, Université Paris-Saclay, samuel.huron[at]cybunk.com
Pauline Gourlet, Université Paris 8, pauline.gourlet[at]gmail.com
Eva Hornecker, Bauhaus Universität Weimar, eva[at]ehornecker.de
Bettina Nissen, University of Edinburgh, bettina.nissen[at]ed.ac.uk


Designing for the Arab World
Room B31

ArabHCI

Since the Arab Spring, there has been a global interest in the use of technology in the Arab world. In particular, there is a growing interest in social media and its impact on democratic practices. The region came to the forefront once more with the refugee crisis as many of these studies address Arabs as users of technologies designed in Western countries. Our experience working/researching HCI motivates us to assert that current research on Arab HCI deals with this population in a superficial way and yet to reflect the diversity of the Arab culture, socio-political and economic aspects of the region. This one-day workshop aims to bring together HCI researchers/practitioners from the Arab World with those who are conducting/interested in research in this context. The goal is to start a dialog that leverages our “insider” understanding of design in the Arab context to explore challenges and opportunities for future research.

Organisers:

Ebtisam Alabdulqader, Newcastle University, E.Abdulqader1[at]newcastle.ac.uk
Norah Abokhodair, University of Washington, noraha[at]uw.edu
Shaimaa Lazem, Informatics Research Institute, City of Scientific Research and Technological Applications, slazem[at]srtacity.sci.eg


Setting the Stage with Metaphors for Interaction – Researching Methodological Approaches for Interaction Design of Autonomous Vehicles
Room B24/25

Workshop Website

Development of autonomous vehicles is progressing. As automation levels increase, the roles of both the driver and the vehicle are changing, meaning that they need to forge a new relationship to each other as the vehicle gains more agency. We believe this requires approaches that address that relationship early in the design process. One such approach is choosing a metaphor as a guiding principle for the interaction to set the preconditions for the relationship. Another approach is early evaluation of designs between concept prototypes and the user. The aim of this one-day workshop is to explore the use of metaphors and evaluation though enactment in the design of human-vehicle interaction. This will be done through a short concept development process, where participants are asked to reflect on the process. Outcomes will be an evolved understanding of using the design approaches, as well as identifying research needs and interaction design ideas.

Organisers:

Helena Strömberg, Chalmers University of Technology,[email protected]
Ingrid Pettersson, Chalmers University of Technology, [email protected]
Wendy Ju, Stanford University, [email protected]
Nikolas Martelaro, Stanford University, [email protected]


Interrogating Biosensing in Everyday Life
Room H11

biosensingworkshop.wordpress.com

This workshop seeks to expand our understanding and imaginations regarding the possible roles biosensors (sensors measuring humans) can—and should—play in everyday life. By applying a critical lens to issues of interpretation, representation, and experience around biosensing and biosensors, we aim to shape research agendas within DIS, and generate new recommendations for designers working with biosensors or their data.

Organisers:

Nick Merrill, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, nick[at]ischool.berkeley.edu
Richmond Wong, University of California, richmond[at]ischool.berkeley.edu
Noura Howell, University of California, noura.howell[at]ischool.berkeley.edu
Luke Stark, Dartmouth College, luke.stark[at]dartmouth.edu
Lucian Leahu, ITU Copenhagen, lucian[at]itu.dk
Dawn Nafus, Intel Research, Intel Labs, dawn.nafus[at]intel.com


Design tools and materials in creative work
Room F15

Workshop Website

This workshop aims to examine and discuss the role and nature of design tools and materials in creative work, and to explore how novel tools can meaningfully combine existing and novel tools to support and augment creative work. By exploring and combining methodological, theoretical, and design-oriented perspectives, we wish to examine the potentials and limitations in current uses of design tools and materials, and discuss and explore when and how we can introduce ones. Participation in the workshop requires participants to document and analyse central themes in a case, and the resulting material will serve as the empirical grounding for workshop discussions.

Organisers:

Nicolai Hansen, Aarhus University, nbhansen[at]cavi.au.dk
Peter Dalsgaard, Aarhus University, dalsgaard[at]cavi.au.dk
Kim Halskov, Aarhus University, halskov[at]cavi.au.dk

2 Day Workshops – Saturday June 10th & Sunday June 11th

Continuous Situated Explorations in Data-enabled Design  CANCELLED

Data-enabled-design.com

This invite only two-day workshop explores the concept of continuity in situated design explorations, using a data-enabled design approach. We conjointly use this workshop to challenge this data-enabled approach in designing for rich (physical) interactions, as we yet have explored this approach in predominantly digital domains. In this hands-on workshop participants design experience catchers, based on data-enabled prototypes situated in everyday life. By equipping these with sensors, contextual, behavioral and experiential usage data of the prototype are captured and displayed via a data dashboard. Where last years DIS’16 workshop focused on translating data-enabled insights into concepts, this workshop sets out to explore how to create a landscape that facilitates continuous and remote (data-enabled) design interventions. We believe that the experience of exploring data while continuously designing for rich interactions sets a solid ground to collectively reflect on the value of data-enabled design.

Organisers:

Janne van Kollenburg, Philips Design, janne.van.kollenburg[at]philips.com
Sander Bogers, Eindhoven University of Technology, s.j.a.bogers[at]tue.nl
Idowu Ayoola,Eindhoven University of Technology, i.b.i.ayoola[at]tue.nl
Joep Frens, Eindhoven University of Technology, j.w.frens[at]tue.nl


Gaze Interaction Design: Eye Movement as Design Material CANCELLED

Gaze Interaction Design Workshop Website

As eye trackers become cheaper, easier to use, and more widely available, using our eyes as a way of interacting with computing emerges as an exciting possibility. This workshop aims at engaging participants in reflection and practical work exploring eye movement as a material for interaction design.

Organisers:

Eduardo Velloso, The University of Melbourne, eduardo.velloso[at]unimelb.edu.au
Hans Gellersen, Lancaster University, hwg[at]comp.lancs.ac.uk